Non-UE citizens who have obtained residence in Italy can drive with a license issued in their country only for a period of 1 year (starting from the date of acquisition of residence). However, the license must be accompanied by an International Driving Permit or a sworn translation of the license.

After one year it is necessary, in order to drive vehicles on the Italian territory, to convert the driving license.

This is possible if the state that issued the driving license has signed reciprocity agreements with Italy.

States not belonging to the European Union / European Economic Area that issue convertible driving licenses in Italy:

  • Albania (valid until 25 December 2019)

  • Algeria

  • Argentina

  • Brazil (valid from 13 January 2018 to 13 January 2023)

  • El Salvador (valid until 4 August 2021)

  • Philippines

  • Japan

  • Israel (valid until 10 November 2018)

  • Lebanon

  • Macedonia

  • Morocco

  • Principato of Monaco

  • Republic of Korea

  • Republic of San Marino

  • Sri Lanka (valid until 4 March 2022)

  • Switzerland (valid until 11 June 2021)

  • Taiwan

  • Tunisia

  • Turkey

  • Ukraine (valid until 29 May 2021)

  • Uruguay (valid until May 17, 2020)

Foreign states that issue convertible licenses in Italy only to certain categories of citizens:

  • Canada (diplomatic and consular staff)

  • Chile (diplomatic staff and their families)

  • United States (diplomatic personnel and their families)

  • Zambia (citizens on a government mission and their families)

Conversion without exams is only possible if

  • the foreign driving license was obtained before acquiring residence in Italy

  • the license holder has been residing in Italy for less than four years at the time of submitting the application (those who have been residing for more than four years will have to take the revision exam)

Foreign licenses obtained by conversion of another foreign license not convertible in Italy cannot be converted.